• This topic has 24 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by mcj78.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Cloud Atlas (book, spoilers)
  • molgrips
    Free Member

I read a bit but I’m a dumb scientist not an English graduate*. What’s this book actually about?

I enjoyed some of the sub-stories more than others, and I can see that there are common elements, and of course they refer to each other – but why? What am I not getting?

* My wife is, and she downloaded the book to her Kindle last night so she might also have some insight.

nickc

It entwines the whole 6 stores with themselves, so that each resolves the previous story in reverse order.

so build up story order 1-6, resolution order 6-1

nickc

but why? What am I not getting?

Enjoyment from it?

molgrips
    Free Member

It entwines the whole 6 stores with themselves, so that each resolves the previous story in reverse order.

Yeah ok, but what is this other than fancy editing? I didn’t really want each story interrupting if I’m not going to gain anything from it..?

Enjoyment from it?

I want to.. I really loved no 5 with the replicant burger waitress in it, and I liked how no 6 followed on from it, but given that I feel like I am missing other causal steps from 1-5, where there are only brief references.

BigButSlimmerBloke
    Free Member

Yeah ok, but what is this other than fancy editing?

I just saw it as an exercise in cleverness – as in how smart am I writing like this? Maybe I didn’t work hard enough at trying to understand it but that’s not why I read. Good bits but too disjointed for me

fasthaggis

What am I not getting?

Maybe you needed to turn your brain up to 11 and stick at it,or upgrade to imagination #2015.

Then again,it may just be that you don’t like that style of story telling,in which case,bin it,read something else and let your OH explain how it works 😉

Richie_B

What am I not getting?