Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Clever paint rollers…
  • jamiesilo
    Free Member

having a look i have seen massively mixed reviews.
    i’m a fairly experienced decorator, tho not by trade, but it seems half my time rolling is charging the roller. i use a roller bucket usually.

anyone (preferably decorators) have any good experience or recommendations?
    i have a lot of painting to do, and plenty more in the pipeline so the right one could save me a lot of time.

seen a lto of people moaning about cleaning, but cleaning a good roller and bucket properly takes time, i’m not too worried about that side.
    ta

woodlikesbeer
    Free Member

Painters Thumb

One of those makes the job of cleaning rollers a much easier task. I got one last year. Cannot imagine decorating without one now.

twang
    Free Member

Assuming by clever roller you mean one that pumps paint to the sleeve, its a gimmick for diyers who struggle loading a roller evenly.
    Id recommend, if you’ve got big areas to cover, a 12″ long pile woven type of sleeve on a double arm and a sturdy extending screw n pole (steady now) avoiding Dulux Dec centre if possible as there tools are a bit shit.

mattbee

Having spent my summer and autumn painting a 170m high building with rollers I’d say just buy the cheaper ones from Toolstation and bin then after use, or wrap in cling film if you’re using them for multiple coats in one day.
    Life is too short for washing roller sleeves…
    Roller and bucket rather than tray.

nmdbasetherevenge
    Free Member

Get decent sleeves, not cheap crap. Purdy Colossus , Hamilton Perfection or Wooster Pro doo z.

twang
    Free Member

Oh and don’t bother washing it out just bag it up( unless changing colour…)
    Washing it in the bath still attached to the pole makes it a doddle – wait until your missus int in tho…

mattbee

9″ cage roller, bucket, Flexcrete coating (posh masonry paint)