Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Choosing a Dissertation Subject.
  • glupton1976
    Free Member

I need to choose a dissertation topic next week. There is a huge selection to choose from. On the whole they can be split into two groups – ones which would be easy to get a high mark in with not a lot of effort, or those which would need a lot of work, but would help get higher marks in other parts of the course.

Which would you recommend I go for and why?

alfabus
    Free Member

go for the one that affords you the most time riding your bike, with the minimum of possible embarassment when describing your degree (and mark) in future years.

cynic-al
    Free Member

What do you want? higher marks in the rest of the course? an easy time? Chance of getting a job after?

glupton1976
    Free Member

I will add that the missus finished the same course 10 years ago, and her dissertation is still used as the “this is what a great dissertation looks like” example.

I am a proud and competitive man, anything other than a 1st will not be good at all.

IanMunro
    Free Member

I’d go for whichever one it was possible to be a bit contentious on. Adds a bit more interest to the study if you’re not following the well worn path, and liable to me more interesting from your supervisor’s point of view.
    That’s assuming that whoever marks isn’t just looking for default responses though.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

I will add that the missus finished the same course 10 years ago, and her dissertation is still used as the “this is what a great dissertation looks like” example.

There is no win here go home now

teamhurtmore
    Free Member

Can I suggest a third group – one that you are genuinely interested in, will enjoy working on and which may be relevant to future career?