Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 80 total)
  • Chinese carbon road wheels
  • carbon337
    Free Member

There are endless threads on multiple forums about Chinese wheelsets.

I’ve read most of them but they get a bit tedious and since stw is the fountain of all knowledge I thought I’d ask here.

Weights and tubs vs clincher arguments has anyone ever hear of these 50mm wheelsets having catastrophic failures. As in complete death defying explosions?

Think I’ll get some carbonzone 50mm clinchers for 335 at 1500g

scaredypants

I’ve no experience, insider knowledge or subject expertise (hence perfectly qualified for a stw comment)

I’m betting that some are great and some are shit. Since I don’t know which I’ll buy the ones that somebody big(gish) is staking their reputation on

Raouligan
    Free Member

Not been anywhere near any but have heard enough horror stories about even quality composite clincher wheels going bang with heat build up that if I lived anywhere hilly I’d only consider tubulars.

That said the Gigantex rims seem to get a thumbs up from a lot of people in both formats, although they don’t sell direct

I’d looked into some either Hong Fu or Deng Fu, can’t remember which and decided that while they’d look ace the dental bill from them failing was more than I’d really like to consider.

Have you thought about some Cosmic SLR’s with exalith they look like full carbon, weigh a bit more but you don’t have braking worries in clincher format?

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    coatesy
    Free Member