Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • cheapest vehicle for a 18yr old to insure?
  • taka
    Free Member

hi my vans just eaten its own engine and I’m back in the market for another vehicle I’m 18 with a years driving but no no claims what cars/vans should i be looking at? btw I’m a builder so boot space is better

reedspeed
    Free Member

From experience with my two,keep under a 1.2 & nothing that says gti,sport,turbo etc etc & summert cheep cos they will crash trust mi,it’s part of the learning process !..

trail_rat
    Free Member

Forget vans

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    seavers
    Free Member

Don’t forget vans. Bedford Rascal.

coffeeking
    Free Member

Indeed, Rascals are super cheap to insure and run. Bit of a shed and the engine’s a bit dodgy and a pain to get to but cheap.

RustyMac

Some of the vauxhall and fiat vans/car come with 1.3l engines things like the Astra van fiat dolbo may be cheaper to insure

MoreCashThanDash

Even with a small engine, avoid anything that is regularly chavved up – Saxos, 106s etc

Drac

Soft Top Bedford Rascal, mmmmm baby!

nealglover
    Free Member

Forget vans

In my experience (from when I was that age), a small engined work van was far cheaper to insure than any type of car.

Even now, I pay a lot less for my 2.5 TDi (150bhp) Multivan than I do for a 1.4 Yaris.

And the value of the van is double what the car is worth too.

misterfrostie
    Free Member

Series 2 land rover. Tax exempt and 80 quid a year fully comp.

trail_rat
    Free Member

Opposite in my experiance ( im 26 so possibly more recently ) same vehicle with windows was half the price of a van

Cheapest when i was young was anything diesel – but that loop hole seems to be shut

misterfrostie hearing you loud and clear but not cheap for the kids either – im 125 a year for an early ninety

robido