Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Cheap SS
  • 154hopperavenue
    Free Member

Asked about options before but I’m nearly done and desperate to get finished.
    Most SSers last time I asked suggested square taper. So, assume I buy a square taper BB (cheap as chips), help me with this. Cheap crank arms? Obviously they need to be ST, any I should look for? And a ring, I’m looking at 36t. Suggestions to match?
    I know these are pretty basic questions but I’ve never tried building anything before.
    Ideas folks?
    Cheers
    Matt

takisawa2

Why faff about with old square taper…?
    As nice as White Industries etc, kit is the low end sq taper stuff you can buy is just that…low end.
    Just buy a Deore crankset & some narrow chainring bolts.

These &
    these.

The steel middle ring will work just fine for a singlespeed, it includes everything you need, no peeing about worrying if you need 68mm / 73mm or this axle length or that axle length etc.

154hopperavenue
    Free Member

But won’t the middle ring be ‘ramped’ for shifting? And isn’t that a bad thing? Someone told me I want to avoid using the ring off a triple/double and get a SS (or 1×10) ring?
    I’m all for anything cheap (I’m running out of money and want to get the f***ing thing built and ridden).
    As for square taper, like I said, loads recommended for SS.

takisawa2

The middle ring will be fine, & they last ages. The ramps won’t make any difference. I ran Deore steel rings as SS & 1×9 for god knows how long.
    I’ve run HT2 singlespeed for years, no way I’d go back to sq taper.
    Ok, so the top end sq taper stuff is nice but its not cheap.
    If you want to do it cheaply those HT2 sets are about as cheap as you can do it. If you buy sq taper you’ve got to add on the BB remember…

mattsccm
    Free Member

HT2 works.