• This topic has 31 replies, 22 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by sorrysnail-spam.
Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Cheap but good cordless drill
  • shermer75
    Free Member

So I need a reasonably powerful cordless drill. Ikea do a 14.4v one for £40, has anybody bought and tried it? I can’t really spend much more than £50 so if that really is too low to get something worth having then I guess I’ll carry on borrowing my neighbour’s lol 🙂

gummikuh

I think the IKEA drills are made by SKIL, but they will be very gutless, I used to be an IKEA store carpenter and we would use them rather than walk back to the workshop, they are woeful.

You would be better off getting a second hand Makita 10.8v drill, they are cheap now as they have been replaced with a newer battery system, I use them every day as they are light to use. Seem pretty indestructible.

globalti
    Free Member

Ryobi stuff is affordable and perfectly good.

nickjb
    Free Member

I don’t think you’ll find a cheap but good cordless. Even the middle range brands like ryobi and bosch green will be over budget and they are ok rather than good. Second hand is a good option. You risk buying a duff battery but there are some bargains to be had. What do you want it for? You might actually be better off buying two. A cheap drill driver for screwing and light drilling and a corded drill for bigger holes and masonry. I think your £50 budget would actually stretch further that way.

If that ikea one is made by skil I actually find their stuff ok. Maybe get the £30 non hammer one and a cheap corded drill. There’s quite a few under £20

revs1972
    Free Member

Screwfix have a couple of Titan models at your price point.
    2 year guarantee . Most of their kit is ok as long as you don’t lean too hard on it

shermer75
    Free Member

Thanks peeps, some good tips there, I might go second hand then. Something that will drill into masonry was what I was looking for…

globalti
    Free Member