Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Chain Skipping on jockey wheels (despite new cassette, derailleur + chain)
  • parkinpants
    Free Member

I’m trying to upgrade my road bike. Currently Tiagra groupset with over 2500 miles.

I’ve fitted…
    – New Ultegra cassette (10sp)
    – New Ultegra rear derailleur (M cage)
    – New KMC chain (10sp)

Shifting is reasonably okay but the chain is not running smooth through the jockey wheels in certain gears.

Top Jockey wheel – seems to ‘ping’ and jump with every revolution

Lower Jockey wheel – chain is trying to slide off the cog (out – away from the cassette) when I’m in largest chainring front, 6th-10 largest cog on cassette. It gets worse from 6th to 10th and louder as it goes.

I’m no expert but I’ve fitted new groupsets before, not sure what’s going on here.

The higher limit screw – seems to be lined up ok and the shifting works reasonably well

Lower limit screw – lets me get to top sprocket, doesn’t allow it to go further

B tension screw – This is very loose, when in smallest cog front + largest cog rear the jockey wheel is quite close to the cassette

Any ideas?

tomh1980
    Free Member

Check the mech hanger alignment? Then whether the cage is bent… Had this problem before and it confused me too.

dirtydog
    Free Member

Chain that the chain is correctly routed around jockey wheels and it’s not rubbing on that metal tab?

parkinpants
    Free Member

Chain is routed ok – no rubbing, the chain just follows a different ‘line’ than the cage in certain gears

the hanger should be fine – nothing has changed since yesterday with the old derailleur on it

Not sure how to check if the cage is bent. Looks ok. Brand new so shouldn’t be.

I could take some pics..

parkinpants
    Free Member

Not the best pics but here goes:

Chain is in largest front and back – where the problem is most noticeable.

lightman
    Free Member

You should never ever be in that gear anyway, no wonder its complaining!