Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • carear change….
  • Nick_Christy
    Free Member

Hi all, i am after a little advice aswell as info.

Im currently a trained BTEC Mechanic but hate it.+

Im 26 and currently working in Innsbruck, AT. The life here is great and lifestyle etc but the pay is a big problem for me. I was on 24,000 pound plus bonus in the UK and here im on 21,000 euro without bonus

I am from Greenwhich, London originally but have travelled about.

So cut to the question…

My bro is currently a plumber in the uk and earning 34k a year for a private firm and being only qualified for 2 years out of an apprentaship is pretty good IMO.

I am practically minded and prefer working with my hands as i am not one to sit in a chair all day. So office type work isnt for me.

So i would like to know who out there who is a;

builder
    electrician
    plasterer
    gas engineer

that can offer me some words of wisdom or advice on best to tackle maybe retraining into one of these fields.

Whats your views and opinions of these 6 week beguinner courses to get knowledge into something and then to build onto.

I read recently one company, 8 week course giving a level 2 NVQ in various fields for about 5000 GBP.

I then would obviosuly go on to do the 3rd and 4rd to become as qualified as i could.

Any advice or tips would be great.

On a real cheeky side note, if you could also say if your self employed or work for someone and if the money is good enough for you to get up for?

thank you

Self employed sparky working on streetlighting – was a Contracts Manager in the same industry on £40k plus car, pension etc, but got out due to stress. Took voluntary redundancy and set up on my own – earn £250 per shift local and £330 per shift away from home. Overheads & general costs run at between £200 & £300 pw.

Some of my mates are domestic sparks and plumbers working local and they get considerably less though.

Nick_Christy
    Free Member