Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • carbon bars?
  • pastcaring
    Free Member

i need new bars, i was thinking of trying carbon. i've never used anything carbon before.
    will i need torque wrench?
    are lock on grips advised?
    anything else i need to know?

it will be going on a 5spot. i weigh 185 lbs not scarred of a drop or jump(with in reason :D) so crash occasionally.

good/bad idea

thanks

JohnClimber
    Free Member

1) Possibly
    2) Yes
    3) Wait until the Ragley Carbon Carnegie's are available.

pastcaring
    Free Member

thanks for 1/2 but 3 no thank you 😯

jimw
    Free Member

Easton Monkeylites

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Easton_EC90_Monkeylite_Riser_SL_Mountain_Bike_Handlebars/5360017512/

A mate has them on his 5spot I have them on my Orange 5, another has them on his Giant Anthem. We find them very comfortable and tough as old boots according to various magazine articles

unovolo
    Free Member

Had some Answer Carbon Risers on my Hardtail for a couple of years now with now issues(touches wood!)
    Have used them with various grips ,currently using a set of shorty lockons as I have XO Gripshifters.
    I would definetly use a Torque wrench when fitting everything up ,Its surprising how little torque is needed to secure the bars.

druidh
    Free Member

I have carbon bars on four bikes (tart!)

I don't own/have never used a torque wrench.
    Lock ons (Lizard Skins) on two of those.

pastcaring
    Free Member

thanks guys

peteroughton169
    Free Member

just got an easton monkeylite dh, its my first carbon bar and i love it. 711mm and 220gm, its on my remedy 7

JohnClimber
    Free Member

pastcaring – Member
    thanks for 1/2 but 3 no thank you

What's wrong with Carnegie's?
    For me they are at the perfect angle for comfortable all day riding.

nickc