Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Car tyres Mud &Snow certification.
  • mrmo
    Free Member

How are such tyres defined? Looking at tyres for the car, you get summer tyres, winter tyres, and 4 season tyres, in theory the definitions sound fine, but looking at a set of Vredestein Quadtracs but noticed different places refer to them as 4 season and winter, on the Vredestein website they are 4 season but are marked as M&S, so what is the definition?

couldashouldawoulda
    Free Member

I'm no expert but afaik full winter tyres should have the mountain + snowflake symbol. The refers to the thread pattern and the softer compounds used for low temps. You can use them all year but they will wear quicker in dry conditions.
    /\
    / * \
    /- -\

(a poor attempt at the symbol!)

4 season tyres are normal year round UK tyres. M+S labelled tyres will have a good thread for snow but possibly not the softer compound.

You can find some info on here (US related but you'll get the idea) including the usual snowflake and mountain winter symbol:
    http://www.tirerack.com/winter/tech/techpage.jsp?techid=125

And a nice video to convince you of the advantages:
    http://www.tirerack.com/videos/index.jsp?video=23

vredestein QUATRAC 2 and 3 have the mountain snowflake symbol so are winter tyres.

sharkbait
    Free Member

I've got Nokian WR tyres on my car (with the mountain and snowflake symbol) and they've worn about 2-3mm in 17,000 miles of driving, so I'm not so sure about the supposedly faster wear-rate 😕
    Very very pleased with them though.

couldashouldawoulda
    Free Member

Sharkbait – Indeed I agree. But the that's the official advice. We're in the UK afterall. I drive in the mornings and night and the temps rarely go above 10deg. So I'm tempted to leave them on all the time.

scuttler