Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • cannondale rz 120 xlr vs lapierre zesty 314
  • kits
    Free Member

any thoughts if the rz would do as well as the zesty on the trails,ie would it cope well enough when the going gets rough,or am i miles off and is the cannondale classed a more xc racer whereas the lappy is an all mountain bike as such?ive been to my local bike shop and tested the zesty and its a cracker,feels bang up to date with good spec,just with spending big pennies(to me) i dont want to jump on the lapierre bandwagon without trying another bike thats on my list.just having difficulty sourcing a rz 120 to give try and compare,anyone got a rz that could give me some idea?cheers

cheez0
    Free Member

can’t comment on the lappy but I have a rz120 that I give a bit of a hiding with no problems.
    iv up graded the wheels from the lighter subzeroes.. but then I am a typical stw sweaty fat bstard
    🙂

boltonjon

I’ve been riding a Zesty for 12 months and i’m amazed how good it is for rapid cross country – it climbs very very well

I often ride with a guy with a RZ120 and its much more XC orientated, so the Zesty destroys it downhill

it all depends if you want more ‘freeride’ rather than a XC orientated trail bike

i certainly wouldn’t swap my Zesty for a RZ120 as the Zesty is a wonderful all-rounder

dantsw13

I ride an RZ120-2 2011, and love it. The only weak specced part is the tyres fitted, that weigh almost 1kg each!!!! I now run it with Conti x-king pro’s and, wow, what a difference. I’m not a jumper, but I do like opening the taps downhill, and having fox both ends is great.

One of the lads in my group has a 2011 zesty and loves it. Little niggles like the saddle has already fallen apart, and his shoes rub the flared chain stays, leaving large patches of bare aluminium exposed. Having had a go on his, I honestly preferred the feel of the Dale, but so much is personal preference, and he adores his zesty.