Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Can you ever really conquer alcoholism?
  • brooess
    Free Member

Although I’ve had a few friends who over the years either drank to unhealthy levels or bounced from one drug to the other, I’ve no experience of dealing with a full-on alcoholic…

Was on a date last night with a lady who, after quitting smoking 6 years ago, became an ultra-runner – as in multiple marathons in one go. Clearly this takes a level of determination… but as the conversation went on, I got the feeling she’s not got the most settled psyche. Not in a nasty way, just clearly got some stuff she’s trying to deal with.

I was curious that she doesn’t drink, at all. I don’t drink much these days myself tbh – I’m training hard and drinking gets in the way, so it made sense.

And then towards the end of the night she tells me she used to be a ‘functioning alcoholic’ – as in vodka for breakfast-type stuff. Apparently her brother was too (also now dry) and one of her grandfathers. I gather alcoholism can often run through the generations.

Now I definitely respect her toughness in fighting it and apparently winning, and her courage in telling me, but frankly there’s a lot of unresolved stuff going on with her IMO – and I’m not really sure I want to get tangled up in it. Unfair in some ways – I suspect she needs someone to support her. But in my experience you need to stay away from unhealthy people if you want to be healthy yourself…

I’m likely to see her again anyway, we’re members of the same running club.

Sensible, intelligent thoughts from STW?

jekkyl

you can’t really expect people to make a judgement about someone with so little information, her previous alcoholism need not be her defining characteristic. What exactly are you asking? she sounds okay, just she’ll never be able to drink, bit shit that if you ask me, but hey ho.

wwaswas

I think people who have ‘addictive personalities’ (whatever that is) will find things to be addicted to.