Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Camera for taking higher quality pictures
  • nickjb
    Free Member

Here’s the background: I’m a freelance design engineer and model maker but I seem to be doing more and more graphic work. I use a lot of stock images but I always struggle to find ones that are just right. A lot of these are just backgrounds, eg leaves, brick walls, sky. I’m toying with the idea of getting a decent camera to take my own images. It would be handy to take pics of the things I make, too.

Cutting to the chase: I’m looking for a dSLR that’ll take decent pics that can be blown up fairly big for printing. Can I get something without breaking the bank? Is there better bang-for-buck by moving away from the Canon/Nikon? I’ve seen some keen pricing on Pentax. I’ve got an LX3 for keeping in a pocket and taking general snaps so this will only be for occasional use and spend most of it’s time at home.

ormondroyd
    Free Member

I like Pentax. Downside is a lack of high quality (super expensive) long telephotos. Upside is a huge availability of brilliant old manual lenses

molgrips
    Free Member

Any DSLR will do what you want.

Is there better bang-for-buck by moving away from the Canon/Nikon?

Yes, Sony seem to be better. They have less market share so are trying harder to sell cams, I think. Same applies to Pentax too I think. AFAIK Pentax are a little smaller than others (I like small) and I think they have the cheapest weather-sealed option.

Both Sony and Pentax have lots of old manual lenses available (although not all produce as good image quality as they did on film) which would be fine for static product photos and the other stuff you are talking about.

cp

Any DSLR will do what you want (in fact some compacts and bridge cameras will do it just as well to an extent).

Whether the person behind the camera can actually compose the shots and get them ‘technically’ right for the intended use is another thing altogether!

molgrips