Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • Calling downhillers
  • mikey74
    Free Member

Any tips for improving my speed? I know the basic techniques and can jump a bit and clean technical tracks, but I am finding it hard to increase my speed, particularly on steep tracks.

So, any tips, beyond the usual “stay off the brakes”. I do think that most of my problems are mental, and I’m not very good at committing to stuff you “have” to make, such as gap jumps.

andeh

Look further ahead,
    let the bike move about under you,
    don’t drag your brakes (makes arm pump much worse),
    only brake in straight lines,
    practice cutties and flat cornering,
    attack the terrain more, force the bike into corners, pump compressions, de-weight over rough bits etc.

Hope this helps!

toys19
    Free Member

Thread closed ^^^

iolo
    Free Member

Paging RITCHMTBGURU

wysiwyg
    Free Member

Ride with someone quicker than you.

Pussywillow to the thread please, pussy to the thread …

sharkattack

Follow someone faster and watch them. Check out their lines and body language.

If your problems are mental there’s nobody can talk you into doing stuff but yourself. Best thing is to find something that you’re not 100% sure on and ride it until you are. If I dislike a certain section of a trail I’ll go there on my own and figure it out. I can stay loose and plummet down most stuff pretty comfortably but I can remember the days of self doubt and stiffness.

The best way I could describe it when I was trying to coach my mate down a steep trail with a lot of big rocks and drops in it was that if you let your bike ride the trail on its own it will go over absolutely anything. Your bike with its big tyres and all of its suspension will handle almost any obstacle. So just point it in the right direction and let it go. Stay loose and let your bike bounce around.