Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Cable disc brakes
  • rogerthecat
    Free Member

OK, I’m a lazy mechanic and like everything simple and easy, I am also a cheapskate and like to do things on a very low budget (due to having to pay for shit like mortgage/food/car/etc).

I want to upgrade from V brakes to disc and like the apparent simplicity of maintenance of cable and ease of trailside repair etc.

If I am going cable – which onces are the best on a tight budget? And, are there any to avoid?

Thanks.

cynic-al
    Free Member

avids are sometimes cheap

Edric64
    Free Member

Dont disregard cheaper hydraulic ones My Deore ones are 8 years old and all I do is change the pads ,thats it nothing else if they do get spongy I ziptie the levers back overnight and force the air out that way

Taff
    Free Member

Agree with edric, deores are pretty good vfm but if you go mechanical for simplicity then the Avid cables have always been good

dti

bb5 good, bb7 better –

grum
    Free Member

Avid BB7s are really good – I put some on my GF’s bike and I don’t like to admit it but they are perfectly decent compared to my fancy shmancy Formula The Ones (nowhere near as powerful but they work well).

You do have to adjust them reasonably often as the pads wear down but it’s no hassle at all.

coatesy
    Free Member

If you’re insistent on cable discs, may I suggest you avoid Promax at all costs- the most hated brake in our workshop at the moment, rotors always bent in lots of places, slop in the pivots, pads that don’t sit parallel with each other, very weak return springs, and levers that come to the bars unless you spend absolutely ages bodging a cure for the above, and only another 150 bikes with them waiting in the storeroom 😥

rogerthecat
    Free Member

Cheers guys.
    Forgot to say that they are going on my Singlespeed and I ride cross country almost exclusively – not into fast downhill. So performance sounds like it should be ok.

coolhandluke