• This topic has 31 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 6 years ago by jimw.
Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Buying a house with unregistered land
  • spennyy
    Free Member

I’ll try to keep it as simple as possible. Been to look at a house this weekend and when we arrived the back garden is about 4 times bigger than shown on the advert. The extra lump is what was a rented allotment, the house has been in the same family for 60 odd years and was rented by the owners. The current house owners have applied to acquire the land via Adverse Possession / statutory declaration and are 7 years into the 12 required. If we were to buy does anyone know if we would continue the 12 year process or would we need to start over again?

piemonster

Can’t help. But for future posters it might be handy to say where you live. The law might vary between Scotland and the rest of the UK.

spennyy
    Free Member

It’s mainland UK.

drlex
    Free Member

I’m not a property lawyer, but my understanding is that with unregistered land, the twelve year period is not timed for one person only, so predecessors’ experience can be included. You would get the current owners to write a Stautory Declaration regarding their seven years so that you can then make your application in another five. Think the current form is ST1, but await correction from another STWer.
    Requirements are fourfold:
    (a) factual possession of the land
    (b) intention to possess the land
    (c) possession is without the owner’s consent
    (d) the above has been true for twelve years
    I’m not sure why one would apply before the twelve years have elapsed – perhaps they made an application that was rejected and the LR determined that just the last seven years were valid?

bruneep

But for future posters it might be handy to say where you live. The law might vary between Scotland and the rest of the UK.

It’s mainland UK

🙄

spennyy
    Free Member

Manchester if you need to be so accurate