Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Buying a garage – do I need a solicitor?
  • GrahamS

There is a single garage for sale locally through an estate agent.

Not much to look at, but could be kinda handy as it is fairly near my house and we could use some more storage space for various toys.

It’s well over-priced at 10k, I’d probably be offering more like 5k.
    I’d probably just raise the cash through a personal loan, rather than any kind of mortgage.

I’ve never done anything like this before – do I need a solicitor for such a (relatively) small property purchase?

What other fees would I need to look out for?

jambalaya
    Free Member

Solicitor would be a good idea, how do you know its theirs to sell, land registry, was it built with planning permission, access rights etc ? Solicitor shouldn’t be mkre than a couple of hundred so very worthwhile I would say.

br
    Free Member

Not much to look at, but could be kinda handy as it is fairly near my house and we could use some more storage space for various toys.

Not sure how you’d insure anything in it, except with an all-risks policy – or if the stuff’s no value, then lob it. Or look at renting one (my MIL gets £10 pcm for hers).

GrahamS

Thanks jamba. That sounds sensible.

So would I make an offer on my own and then get a solicitor involved if the offer is accepted? Obviously at this sort of price I don’t want to pay out too much until I’m sure I’m getting the property.

Anything else I need to look out for?

suburbanreuben
    Free Member

Solicitor would be a good idea, how do you know its theirs to sell, land registry, was it built with planning permission, access rights etc ? Solicitor shouldn’t be mkre than a couple of hundred so very worthwhile I would say.

+1

perchypanther
    Free Member

I’d avoid.
    There’s a sign saying you’re not allowed to park in it. 😉

Stoner
    Free Member