Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Building my own website
  • jim25

Enquiring about building a website, I’m a carpenter and would like to get abit of webspace to show off some of my work and obviously make it easier for customers to check my out.

Have had quotes of £5-600 for a 4 page site.
    Wandering as I’ve got a bit of spare time how hard it would be to make it myself? Using a proper webaddress not one of the long winded free address’ you get for signing up with some of the build your own site places.

Any pointers? I’m pretty noncomputerised!

somouk
    Free Member

Simple enough really, grab some space and a domain name from 1 and 1.

Then use their web site builder to give you the basics or do some research into HTML online and start giving it a bash.

allthegear
    Free Member

First things first – spend a bit of time working out how much EXTRA PROFIT you will make from having a website. Your budget is LESS than that. Otherwise, you are not benefitting from it.

People seem to forget the website is an advertising tool for your type of business, nothing more. What other advertising do you do and how effective is it?

Spend as much time as you can working out how and if a website will actually work for you. Then decide whether to still do it.

And that’s coming from a freelance website developer…

Rachel

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    whitestone
    Free Member

Ultimately a website is just a text document containing basic instructions to the browser on how to display it. Making sure that such a document appears acceptable on the wide variety of devices now used to view the web isn’t so easy. The quoted cost seems about right.