Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • British Cycling race mechanic job
  • uglybassplayer

The BC website shows another race mechanic job is open, applications due before the end of the month…

My question to those who are race mechanics (or have been), is what is required to be successful in such an application…

I am looking pretty seriously at changing careers (currently an Engineer) and have considered such a job before, I can provide enthusiasm and passion, my current career provides evidence for some of the organisational/problem solving/responsibility required etc and I have evidence of CAD, and manufacture of bespoke parts for my own projects to back up the practical.

What I am lacking (and this is where many people will point and laugh) is as a bicycle mechanic! I worked in a shop when I was younger and maintain my own bikes/cars/motorcycles etc but I’m not sure that will hold much weight!

Are they looking for qualifications (cy tech etc), experience in lower tier teams (I volunteer as a mechanic/helper for our local club development team) or a healthy helping of both…

Would they even read an application slightly out of left field, no provable direct experience but plenty of comparable and useful skills?

somafunk

Having known a few pro-bike team mechanics you would be so out of your depth that it would be pointless applying for it, you wouldn’t even get past the cv stage or get an interview. I’m saying this not to be an arse but to be brutally honest.

twohats
    Free Member

The main criteria is experience as a bicycle mechanic, preferably at workshop manager level.
    Your CAD/engineering experience wont even get you a look in.

uglybassplayer

Nothing wrong with being brutal… Your only saying what I’m already thinking… So thinking ahead to the next position that opens up is the only option to quit my current job and work in a bike shop for a year or so?

Rorschach
    Free Member