Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Bottom preparation!?
  • blader1611
    Free Member

Now take your minds out of the gutter, this is a serious question. I have been commuting to work most days for 10 years until the last 7 months whereby i have become just a weekend warrior at best. I have signed up for a couple longish distance sportives one of which is in 7 weeks time. The problem i have is my bottom isn’t prepared for long stints in the saddle, i manage about 3-3.5 hrs in the mtb saddle but then my posterior just cant handle the sitting down anymore. Are there any tricks to shall we say toughen up that area or should i just put lots of padding in my shorts? I have the turbo set up so could feasibly manage an hour on that a few times a week maybe but other than that family life dictates barely a long ride per week. Can i train my saddle area to toughen up?

Yak

Good quality padded bibshorts and chamois cream. Try now, and not on the day, in case the cream you’ve pick doesn’t agree with your skin.

wwaswas

someone you know well could spend half an hour bashing your bum with one of these on a regular basis?

ime, additional padding won’t help over ling rides, it’s more about saddle fit than anything else.

nedrapier

definitely get on the cream. twixt the cheeks is as important as the parts you’re sitting on.

Northwind

Do you have a conservative local MP? If so, they’ll have some useful advice.

bonesetter
    Free Member

😆

blader1611
    Free Member

After 3 hours in any of my saddles a hammer like that would look comfortable. I have chamois cream but that just deals with chaffing whereas my issue is more based around bruising/tenderness for want of a better word. I need to get my “saddle wings” in a short space of time. My padded shorts are probably past there best and a little thin to begin with so any suggestions for anything with a thicker padded liner?