Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • "Bonking"
  • Skid-Mark
    Free Member

No, not that sort of bonking! I'd like to ask for some advice about running out of energy. I have been doing a mountain marathon the Alps now for the last 4 years. First time was tough on account of no training. Then the seconds time I made it to about 4 hrs then my legs "fell off". Last year was much better. Could the key difference have been that last year I took some ham and cheese sandwiches with me. The reason I say this is that on Saturday I did the race once again and came a cropper at the 4 hrs mark having NOT taken sandwiches with me. It's not good for the ego when you a left lying at the side of the track a dribbling, whimpering wreck! The legs where dead, cramp in both of them. At all the feed stations up to the 4 hrs point I ate as many banana's a s I could and filled up with "energy" drinks (had a couple of those energy gells), but as full as I felt, I just didn't have any energy left in me.

My question, when doing a 7 hrs (or similar) ride with big hills to cross, how do you keep your legs going and ward off your legs cramping up?

Skiddie

parkesie
    Free Member

Hydrate lots and small amounts of food often and pace yourself dont be going 100% everywhere youl burn out.

poppa
    Free Member

Energy levels are very important for anything more than about 90 mins in length.

You can try 'carb loading' the day before the event, but definitely make sure you have a large and low-GI meal a couple of hours before the event and take lots of energy food with you.

molgrips
    Free Member

Energy drink (mixed slightly weak) coupled with some energy bars and then the odd gel if I need it. All from Torq cos they are the best by miles. Remember to take on water also, since to use carbs you need water.

Caffeinated gels are the business for late in an event.