Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • Bling or Stealth?
  • cyclewerx

I’ve always been one for building my bikes with a lot of bling on them, lots of anodised red parts and that sort of thing.
    Over the last 6 month I’ve gradually replaced all the ano parts and replaced them with black-going for the stealth look now.
    My mate said I was just going through a faze and would regret it then buy the bling stuff back again. I think its more my age (38) and not wanting to stand out as much as when your young. So we thought we’d put it to the STW vote. Bling or stealth and does it depend on age?

orangefatlad
    Free Member

stealth, albeit good quality stealth. (38)

mrlugz
    Free Member

Im a veteran this year…

My 456c is stickerless matt with all black bits

My enduro is like a xmas tree with barnoldswicks finest red bits.

So both!

honourablegeorge

I did all the red stuff on my first bike. Red ano hope QRs, seat clamp, bar ends, etc, etc. Then I spent cash i didn’t really have on Panaracer tyres with red sidwwalls. That was the final straw, I hated it.

Have had a simple rule since for components. “Get the black one”. Works every time.

ir_bandito
    Free Member

It depends which bike it is. Usuaully I go for stealth with a few bits of bling to highlight stuff.

Ti Hardtail is mainly black stuff, with a few red highlights, mainly component branding.

Road bike is a hodge podge, but the new one is going to be all black components to highlight the metallic candy red custom frame I’m having made.

Full sus is showered in blue anodising to highlight the blue on the inside of the Gates Centretrack belt.

I’m 35.

makeitorange
    Free Member

Massive bling whore here! If it’s not available in Orange it isn’t going on my Bike.

One of my lastest hauls from CRC:

Although with all the bike thieving going on I think stealth may be wiser in the future!

cyclewerx

@ makeitorange haha fair play to you…the clue is in the name eh 😉

rtc3000m