Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Blackberry and GPS tracking..
  • MTB-Rob
    Free Member

Hi All
    After some info advice for the Blackberry 9300 which I just upgraded to! 😀
    I know it has GPS and some mapping of some sort.
    Does it Track where you been and then can I down load it?
    As I like to map where I have been on some rides.

If not, I know I can get an Apps for the phone, OS map layout whould be best but open to others,
    So can anyone recommend any? app thats Free be good but if you highly recommend ones thats a few £ still like to know about it.
    Also do I need to download any softwear for PC? pay for use of the website?

Also what is the Batt life like? has I read somewhere it might be better to get a bluetooth GPS Receiver to help with Batt life or would it lead to more hassel with setup/working with phone and a new app etc.

Any help/advice would be great as i am very new to this blackberry/smartphone stuff…

Thanks
    Rob

TheFopster
    Free Member

I have the same requirement, but not found anything yet. I want to get OS maps onto a Blackberry, but can’t find a way. There are a few apps aimed at treckers/bikers, but most seem US biased and no decent maps for UK. You can use the inbuilt mapping or google mobile maps, but neither are any good as far as I can see if you are off the beaten track. I suspect there is a way to get OS maps to work with an app called Trekbuddy, but you’d need to devote a fair bit of time and effort to do it. I can think of better ways to use my free time (like going for a bike ride, for example…)

trusz
    Free Member

check the blackberry app store. If you just want to track your route, check blackstar. Its simple and free. exports to gpx. MapMyTracks also do a blackberry app that will upload your route and gives the option of live tracking.