Viewing 35 posts - 1 through 35 (of 35 total)
  • Biking in Nepal and Tibet- trip experiences
  • kayak23

Just had the last birthday I have left until I’m 40 next year and life is essentially over. 😉

I want to do a really memorable trip to mark it and have always fancied Nepal and Tibet .

Can anyone talk about their experiences with guided trips or otherwise, itineraries and companies, costs involved, photos etc?

Ideally I want to be away on my actual birthday at the end of July, I work in education too so out of term time is the only time possible and I’d like to do a great trip of about 3 weeks. .

Anyone been?

Kojaklollipop
    Free Member

I did a trip like this a few years ago going from Lhasa to Kathmandu with Red Spokes, google them and have a look, I had a really good time.

Like you I work in education so had to go during the summer holiday. Had to organise my flights to Nepal, everything else was included. I think you spend about 3 days in Nepal then fly to Lhasa where you spend about another 3 days acclimatising before starting the cycling. I think it came to about £2 – £2.5K in the end for about 25 days away. A lot of the route is tarmac so I took some semi-slicks and a pair of off road tyres for the off road bits, the part up to Everest base camp was still rough and waking up to see that outside your tent was amazing. We had a good mixed ability group but everyone managed the trip, but the altitude will get you in different ways. I remember at some points having to climb a km and stop to get my breath, go another km and repeat, and one of the fitest people on the trip had to be taken down from base camp with altitude sickness. Good food, good support, we were amazed one evening in the middle of nowhere in Tibet the support russled up a huge pizza and chips! This was a welcome change from dhal and rice.