Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Bike locks – whats good for the garage?
  • djflexure

Going to have to get a couple more locks.
    Presently use Abus City Chains.
    They are quite expensive though.
    Anybody know what else works?
    Chain or D lock?
    Don’t have to be moved about – so heavy as you like.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

Ground anchor and big eff off chain. expect to pay plenty for a strong lock. Look at motorcycle stuff. almax is often recommended but I have no direct experience of them

dangerousdan
    Free Member

+1 to that. Biggest, meanest ground anchor you can afford plus the biggest, meanest chain you can afford. If it doesn’t weigh as much as your bike fagedaboutit.

Even more importantly though, make sure you install it effectively – unless your ground anchor is proper bolted to something proper solid you might as well just chain it to thin air. I had a biek secrued to a wall anchor drilled into brick that proved to be of chocolate fireguard usefulness.

tonyplym
    Free Member

If you can’t find a decent bit of concrete to fit the ground anchor in to then consider getting an old van or truck tyre and filling it with concrete – a bag of cement and two or three bags of “all in” aggregate from your local DIY store should be more than enough to make the finished article too heavy for all but the most determined of light-fingered sc#m to move.

Gribs

Don’t bother with a d-lock. They last about a minute against someone armed with a jack.

nealy
    Free Member

When I get my next bike I’ll be getting an Almax chain. Not cheap but the videos on their website are quite convincing!

http://www.almax-security-chains.co.uk/

Chainline
    Free Member

Pragmasis 19mm lock and Squire custom padlock

Similar to Almax but after my research I was slightly more convinced. With ground anchor of course.

Ming the Merciless
    Free Member