Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • Bigging up your kit
  • cynic-al
    Free Member

Why do folk do this?

"I have an Orange 5 and it's the best trail bike out there" despite not having ridden any others apart fromhis last choice which was, at that time "the best trail bike out there"

"King hubs are the best there is" despite obvious negatives.

"Hope brakes are superior to all others" despite numerous reported problems.

Can't folk just accept that they like what they own without ramming their choices down others' throats?

convert

I agree to an extend – there is a difference between a "I own a xxx and have liked the performance and have had no issues" to a "xxx is so cool it hurts – you would be a minger to buy owt else" type response. I think a qualifying "I've also owned/tried/used xxx, xxx and xxx" or "I have no other relevant experience to compare it against" is very helpful.

Nothing wrong with a qualified recommendation of what you have bought, given that you probably did a hefty bit of research in coming to your decision and provided it has lived up to expectations. A few more "I bought xxx and it sucks" or "now that xxx is available I would probably have got that instead"s would give a greater level of honesty though. There is probably a human element of needing to confirm your obscene purchase to yourself was worthwhile and should not have been used to put clothes on the kids etc!

oldgit
    Free Member

I do know what you mean.

jam-bo

My five is one of the best bikes I've ever owned

Hope brakes suck balls.

Anything by Chris king is overpriced tat.

Happy to help.

Surf-Mat
    Free Member

I reckon my valve caps (red anodized Mowa's) are the best you can get 😉

Seriously though, we all like to justify what we buy, especially if it's expensive but nothing is perfect – ever. And biking is definitely a sport/hobby where bigger money doesn't always get you better kit.

yesiamtom
    Free Member