Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Bicycle vs Motorbike – Commuting reliability
  • teacake
    Free Member

Hypothetically (no treadmills in sight)

Bicycle: Well built 26 inch commuter bike with tough tyres and simple 8 or 9 speed drivetrain. No suspension or fancy stuff.

Versus

Motorbike: I’m no expert – good quality mid range bike you’d use for everyday riding.

If you had a 10 mile commute to and from work each day – which would totally fail first. By fail I mean, to the point you could no longer ride it normally and would need to push it or get it on a lorry.

Neglect punctures and fuel.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Maintenance?

Motorbike chains and sprockets have comparable lifespans to pushbike equivelents, well a push bike would skip horribly after 5000-10000miles or so, I’d not risk a motorbike past the recomended wear as the consequences a re abit mroe fatal than bashing nuts into the stem.

Maintained properly both would go on forever, plenty of motorbikes with 250,000 on the clocks, a handfull of people have toured that far on push bikes.

tomhoward

Total catastrophic failure with no prior warning?

Chances are almost nil for both, I wouldnt factor it in as a decision point.

teacake
    Free Member

With no maintenance or oiling etc.

Just get on and ride.

My thought was chain snapping first. Pedals snapping and bearings breaking down don’t necessarily stop you.

Though I did have an interesting BB bearing explosion/fall over in front of a bus when the bearings came loose and jammed the cranks!

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Actualy, I’m going to the push bike failing far sooner, a winter on the roads would kill the brake pads, but as I said erlier, I’d not ried an unmaintained motorbike as the risk of something killing me if it goes wrong is high!

IainAhh
    Free Member