Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Better half wants to set up a website – help!!
  • badgerbater
    Free Member

As title, she’s after the best website design package; preferrably free and easy to use (for a compplete novice), although she’s prepared to pay a nominal amount if need be. Also want’s to register a .co.uk domain name; talk me through the process. Would be grateful for any help on this.

poly
    Free Member

Total beginner? Go to cloudnext buy domain and hosting. Install (one click) either concrete5 or WordPress… job done.

donsimon
    Free Member

+1 WordPress or Fasthosts.

garrrrpirate
    Free Member

Go to 123-reg.co.uk register the domain. Look at 5quidhost.co.uk for the hosting. You don’t need a fancy package to get great results. Learn from first principals she’ll get a much better result that she can actually maintain. Notepad++ is all you need. Avoid dreamweaver and the like.

For a good starting point try twitter bootstrap to build an actual site. If she just wants to get online try wordpress or maybe joomla you can get quite a sophisticated site without a load of coding.

If she really really wants to avoid any coding then look at adobe muse which lets you design the site and produces the markup automagically.

CaptJon
    Free Member

Don’t overlook the price of a decent lighting set up, as domestic lights won’t flatter her. And make sure the house is tidy – a mess in the background is very distracting.

simonralli2
    Free Member

I buy my domains from http://www.fasthosts.co.uk. On wordpress, which I also use, you will end up with a url such as badgerbater.wordpress.com. On fastshosts, what you do is simply redirect the url to this url, and bob’s your uncle.

What is the website for? On wordpress, you can set up a few permanent pages as well as use it as a blog.