Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Best Scottish blue runs for beginners?
  • bobalina50
    Free Member

Hiya! I wonder if any of you can advise? My husband and I are looking for good blue runs in Scotland for us to try. I’m a complete newbie and have just bought a new bike which I’m just getting used to, so I’m looking for blue runs which would be suitable for me without giving me the fear! 😉 He’s a bit more accomplished but happy to go at my pace just now.

We’ve been at Glentress, where I only did the green loop a few times as it was my first time on a bike for years. And last weekend I managed the blue run at Ae (went there as I heard it was prob the easiest blue run of the 7Stanes sites) without any difficulty (other than pushing the bike up a bit of the hill at the start. I looked at the 7 Stanes site and saw the blue runs listed in order of difficulty, but after looking online I’ve seen people disagreeing with some of what they have said.

Does anyone know of any routes (even green routes if they’re fun and would be good for my fitness levels) which would be an ideal next step? Doesn’t even have to be a trail centre, just somewhere which would be ok for my level of ability, or I don’t mind a wee bit of a challenge as long as it’s not a huge jump from what I’ve done already. Don’t want to scare myself off! 😀

ahwiles
    Free Member

my wife and i have done some rigourous testing of Scotlands blue trails:

Glentress blue is great.

Newcastleton blue is also very good (Even Consider the Red, it’s quite long, but not quite as strenuous or technical as other reds).

While i haven’t done a complete lap, Kirroughtree blue looked good from the bits and bobs i have ridden.

Dalbeatie is good, perhaps not as swoopy-awesome as Glentress, but it’s got some fun bits, and it’s a good leg-stretcher. There are some mellow rocky bits to spice it up a bit.

Mabie: total carp.

Ae: total carp.