• This topic has 16 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by Bez.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Best reliable GPS unit with mapping, preferably OS maps?
  • skydragon
    Free Member

I’ve been using a Garmin 500 for a few years now and have been very happy with it’s (fairly limited) features and reliability.

I’m thinking of upgrading to a new GPS unit and ideally I’d like one with mapping, preferably OS mapping for UK. A key requirement is, that it must be reliable and not freeze/crash mid ride.

Reading online reviews (amazon etc) for the Garmin 1000 and 810, it seems like there are a lot of people who’ve experienced poor reliability and lots of problems (units crashing mid ride etc).

In was thinking of trying the new Garmin 520, but it’s obviously an unknown quantity so far.

For me, I’d like to have;

– Accurate and fast GPS reception
    – very reliable operation
    – Track my ride (speed, distance, altitude etc)
    – good quality mapping, preferably OS mapping for UK
    – will display route/course that I can then follow
    – Easy to upload/download courses, routes, maps, updates, etc
    – Sometimes use with HRM

Any advice from the STW masses?

kcr
    Free Member

I use a walking GPS, the Garmin Dakota, which is a few years old now (don’t know what the current equivalent would be). I like it because it has a reasonably sized screen and very long battery life and runs on AAs, so it’s easy to swap in spare rechargeables (it does around 24 hours on Lithium disposables). You can buy OS mapping from Garmin, but I just use the open source MTB and road maps.
    It’s pretty tough and I’ve had no problems with water (it survived getting dropped in a canal!)

It’s a lot bigger than the bike specific units, but sits neatly on my stem. If you’re not worried about having a compact GPS it’s worth looking at the non cycling specific models.

nickdavies