Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 41 total)
  • Being made redundant In June, need advice from IT gurus.
  • ragleybaggerrider
    Free Member

Hi, I need some advice about what courses would be best to go for in IT as I need to start working on building a career ( and earning some decent money). I have no experience working in IT but I do have a degree in ‘Business IT’ attained in 2005, which was quite general in nature. I was thinking of Microsoft courses, would this be a good idea and could anyone recommend a good one to go for?

Cougar

Do you want to be an engineer? “Business IT” implies more sort of project management maybe?

mogrim

Look at a job postings board used locally, see what’s in demand?

scaled
    Free Member

Where are you based?

As with most things, if you’re just getting into it then you’re going to start at the bottom rung. If you’re looking to go ‘technical’ that probably probably means on a service desk somewhere on 17-20k

There’s a whole world of Microsoft courses you can do (and find the course materials online) then the exams are £90 odd each (I think).

In that time frame you could probably get yourself to MCSA/MCSE in server 2012 depending how fast you pick the concepts up.

The MS website is actually quite good at explaining it, until they change it all again.

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en-gb/certification-overview.aspx

Pieface

What’s your current role?

IMO the more business side courses are probably more up your street e.g. Project Management, Service Management (ITIL) with a view to being a Business Analyst / PM / Junior Service Management role.

Going in to a techy role you’ll be up against stiff competition with no previous whereas the PM / SM stuff is more open to transferable skills.

If you’ve got a techy bent though and are logical and can code already but just need the certificates then go for it.

SQL is always in demand, or Java .net etc.

growinglad
    Free Member