Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Beginner Skier Help
  • grantyboy
    Free Member

I’ve been snowboarding for the past 15 years, and my rad is uber to the max. BUT, I’ve a young daughter I wish to taking up to the Scottish Alps on a regular basis so she can learn to ski. And with me on a board I can’t help her get up the infamous poma’s.

So I’m looking to learn to ski this season, so I can get her up the easier lifts with assistance from me. I’d also like to be able to go ski touring in Scotland once my skills are up to it.

I know nothing much about skis/bindings/boots. Ideally I’d like to be able to get a setup that would cover both lift assisted d/h skiing and also still be able to do some touring on them. Can one setup do both these or would I be better with two different setups?
    I’m 5’8”, size 8 feet and 190lbs if that helps in working out what size kit I should be looking at.

GrahamS

I’ve a young daughter I wish to taking up to the Scottish Alps on a regular basis so she can learn to ski.

scuttler

Bend-ze-neeeees.

Edukator
    Free Member

Avoid the super-light, race-orientated stuff and rando kit is fine on piste. I suggest 170 skis around 78mm under foot with a radius of betwwen 17 and 24m. Low Tech or Diamir bindings (I prefer Low Tech but the Diamir release is probably a bit safer). With Low Tech you need compatible boots, just choose what feels comfortable running around the shop.

I suggest renting for the first few days skiing as a beginner ski is easier to ski and you can wind the bindings right down. Once you’ve done a few days rando skis will be fine.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

😀 @ Graham!

RE kit, there’s plenty out there that will do both, but be prepared for a price tag!
    Black Diamond do an awesome looking boot (Factor?) that has a swappable binding interface.

However, as always with boots, get thee to a proper fitter and find what works best for you.

grantyboy
    Free Member