Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Be kind, i'm interested to know
  • scousebri
    Free Member

What makes a cotic soul so desirable. I’m not an expert on frames but to me the soul looks generic.I like the look of some of the bikes pictured on here and the new colours are really nice. I’m just interested in knowing what makes them stand apart from other similar manufacturers. I’m not interested in the good v shit argument , i just want to what it is they have that others don’t.

brakes
    Free Member

for me, it’s just a nice bike to ride – I’m not good enough to know why, but compared to other steel hardtails I’ve ridden it is simply more enjoyable to ride up, down, under, over and around.

I’d like to think that this is because a lot of thought went into its design compared to other ‘generic’ steel hardtails because it’s a small brand with an owner/ designer who cares.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

Well made, nice looking bike with little that anyone could actually fault designed for UK riding.

Oh….. And price….. Slightly too expensive and that makes them ‘feel expensive” and more desirable too. 🙂

yossarian
    Free Member

Can’t comment on the most recent incarnation, but safe to say that previous versions had everything you could want in a trail hardtail. That elusive combination of planted climbing, stable descending, snappy handling and compliment tubing.

My favourite mtb of all time was a 99 explosif. The soul has come the closest to recreating that ride, but with more travel and discs.

billyblackheart
    Free Member

I think you need to have ridden ‘back in the day’ to get the whole steel twang thing.

Steel bikes these days just don’t have it perhaps the Voodoo one by Joe Murray did, i’ve not ridden a soul to see if they do.

Northwind

It’s the all-round best riding hardtail frame I’ve ridden. Sorted geometry, lovely ride quality, well made, and light for what it is.