Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • BB help please
  • lauraly
    Free Member

Ok I am a newbie and have got a Marin East Peak 13.5″ frame, not sure what year.

Anyway just wanted to ask what size bb i can use…I know nothing out BB’s so please can you tell me what things look for when buying.

This is the bike

uplink
    Free Member

What cranks will you be using?

lauraly
    Free Member

Not sure, havent got them yet, nothing too fancy.

uplink
    Free Member
    lauraly
    Free Member

thank you so much, really appreciate the help, I am sure I will be back with more questions.

RudeBoy
    Free Member

Lauraly; I’m assuming, by your name and the small frame size, that you are either female and/or quite young and smallish. About 5’2″ish, or thereabouts?

Therefore, you need to be looking at cranks with slightly shorter arms than in the link provided by Uplink (175mm). You should be looking more at crank arm length of 160-170mm. I60 and 165mm cranks may be harder to find, and more spensive. You might find anything over 170mm a little long, as the pedaling circle diameter will be just that bit larger. Could possibly lead to knee problems.

Do you know what length cranks you are running at the moment? Should have the length on the backs of the arms, often near the pedal thread.

Of course, you may already be using 175mm cranks, and find them perfectly comfortable.

For comparison, I’m 5′ 5″, and find 170mm cranks to be the most comfortable and efficient, with gears. I do have long shins, though, and am ok with 175mms.

racing_ralph
    Free Member

I am 6ft and find 170mm cranks perfick

lauraly
    Free Member

I really appreciate your guys help.

You are absolutely correct I am a girl of 5.3 ft,At the moment I only have the frame and rear shock,