• This topic has 29 replies, 18 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by jedi.
Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Basic skill course (Lady content)
  • neilwheel
    Free Member

Hello,
    I have searched on the forum and web with little luck so far, any advice appreciated.

My partner has a complete lack of confidence riding.

Over the last few years I have tried to get her riding off road, she is a confident skier, so I thought she would enjoy it.

After seeming to get in the groove and really having a few good rides, she was the victim of a hit and run during her commute which left her with a broken arm. Last year an OTB has left her with absolutely no confidence riding off road.

It’s horrible to see her so uncomfortable on her bike. We no longer ride together, I end up waiting for her more time than riding and worrying that she has stacked the bike.

So I’m looking for an absolute novice course in the South East, I think a women specific group would be best, hopefully to avoid any Zero to Hero soaking up the instructors time.

Anyone know of a course or where is the best site to look. Thanks, Neil.

oldnpastit

Could possibly try a 1:1 with Tony Doyle of UK Bike Skills (aka Jedi) ? He’s very good at what he does.

cinnamon_girl

If it were me (speaking as somebody that has lost confidence in the past) I would have a one-to-one session with Tony from UK Bike Skills.

http://www.ukbikeskills.co.uk

I do feel that having an individual session would be far more productive rather than any group session where one could feel under pressure to keep up.

Tony is lovely, very encouraging and he really helped me. Highly recommended. 😀

peabrain
    Free Member

Our woman only mtb club often runs courses for its members. Not local to you but there might be a club that does something similar?

Onzadog
    Free Member

Agree with the above about Tony/jedi. If you were in the Midlands, I’d also suggest a 1-2-1 at Sherwood pines with allianceMTB.

mcnultycop