Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Audi A4 1.9TDI cambelt change.
  • moe_szyslak
    Free Member

Weighing up whether or not to do this myself, I am a competent mechanic, but I try to shy away form working on road cars.

Has anyone done this themselves, is fairly bearable?

Main dealer wants £350 to do this, assume an independent would want circa £250?

mboy
    Free Member

A good independent should be a lot less than £250… Just for the cambelt change that is… £250 might be the whole service.

Where are you based, if it's anywhere near me (Worcestershire) can put you in touch with a very good mechanic who doesn't take the piss on price.

moe_szyslak
    Free Member

I am in……Worcestershire, mechanic details would be great 🙂

Suggsey
    Free Member

Although I am mechanically competent I always get the main VW dealer to do my TDi cambelt changes as they give a very good warranty on the work that way if the belt busts its over to them for the engine rebuild. I know that to do mine without a garage its outside in the cold with the bumper etc etc off the car ro do the job-too much hassle.

organic355
    Free Member

I just got mine done on my A3, cost £280 (independent). I saw the old belt, looked like new, only changed it as Audi called me and said it needed doing, they wanted to charge £350.

I have beens tung before with a timing belt though (destroyed engine) so didnt want to take the risk!!

Flaperon

I think it's a fixed price of £230 at a VW dealer (it is at mine) and you get your car valeted for free at the same time. Besides, it's then their fault if it snaps, as Suggsey says.

mboy
    Free Member

moe

my email is in my profile, drop me an email, i'll send you his details.

He can give you a quote that way. He's based over by Bredon if that's of any use. My mate uses a Garage over Malvern way though, can't remember who, can find out for you if you'd like.

Fraz
    Free Member

This is an easy belt to do dude.