• This topic has 32 replies, 14 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by IHN.
Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Attempting a long ride with shingles
  • monksie
    Free Member

I had shingles twenty years ago but I couldn’t even ride a bike then so I’ve no prior knowledge.
    I’ve got them again.
    I have a 200 plus mile ride to do in 10 days.
    Any tips on how I can damage limitate?
    No chance of cancelling my ride.

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

“No chance of cancelling my ride. “

Why are they going to shoot you if you don’t do it?

See to me my health is more important that going for a bike ride, but I can appreciate to you it might not be.

z1ppy

^ wot he said, shingles can shirely be very mild (as per my case) to extreme’s as per my nan (had it for 6 months..).

Cancelling maybe really crap but better than messing yourself up unnecessarily

IHN

No chance of cancelling my ride

It’s a sponsored ride.

Monksie – sounds iffy though fella, speak to your GP?

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

Why does a sponsored ride make it any different, if your ill your ill.

Or is the idea to go for the London Marathon effect and raising millions of pounds by dying as a result?

boxfish
    Free Member

The virus is active again, which I believe means your immune system is a bit below par? Riding 200 miles will not help it recover.

allthepies
    Free Member

I have a 200 plus mile ride to do in 10 days.

20 miles / day, no worries.

😉

footflaps

Doing an endurance event will suppress your immune system, so give the virus free reign to expand uncontested and do more damage / take longer to clear up.

Pretty daft IMO.

IHN

Why does a sponsored ride make it any different, if your ill your ill.

If, like Monksie, you’ve put a lot of effort into the preparation, fund-raising and logistics, you may well be reticent to cancel.