Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Arthroscopy Of The Knee – riders recovery time…thoughts & experiences pls
  • Finster
    Free Member

after many yrs managing the pain…the time has come checking into the nuffield tomorrow.

been advised i cant drive for 2 weeks, how long have people taken to get back on their bikes??

simonralli2
    Free Member

I took it very slowly after having this done in May. I was in Brazil though and without my bike, but I did go to the gym. I began doing just 5 minutes on a sitting down gym bike and slowly built up to 30 minutes over the course of a couple of months. I am no expert, but I really think you should not rush back on the bike, and you will also be given many exercises to do to build strength back up which will help.

Max
    Free Member

I had the same after a crash caused something in my knee to rip and afterwards it locked up intermittently. My experience was extremely positive – walking pretty much straight away, riding not long after ie c.2 weeks (but tentatively at first). Pre-op the doc said the same to me – it’ll be 2 weeks before driving – but that didn’t match with what happened afterwards.

Running took longer. About 20 months before I could run more than 30 minutes without a dull ache appearing.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    houndlegs
    Free Member

I can’t help with the bike time thing,(I was’nt riding at the time) but the first time I had this done I was off work for 10 weeks, and the second time I had it done I was only off 4 weeks. No idea why there was such a difference, but I really struggled with the first one.
    As said previously, you will get exercises to do, and I’ve been told by a physio mate that you really need to do these, and don’t shirk off them.

shadowrider
    Free Member