Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • are aaa/aa rechargables as bright in an led torch as a regular duracell?
  • gavtheoldskater
    Free Member

hopefully not a thick question, but i need some new aaa for my running headtorch and wondered if rechargeable jobbies, if i bought some decent ones not cheapo off ebay, will give the same brightness?

for some reason i seem to recall reading that they might not, but who knows i am no battery expert.

Stoner
    Free Member

rechargeable cells are I think 1.2v compared with 1.5v for standard metal cells (AAs and AAAs).

But IIRC LED’s light output is a function of forward current not voltage (as long as voltage is within parameters) so you should get much the same light output for either type of cell. Im pretty certain I do with my alpkit head torches and mainly use rechargeable.

tjagain

depends. rechargeables are lower voltage than regular batteries so if you are only just reaching the right voltage with ordinary batteries you wilkl be under it with rechargeables. However in practice I find no issues

LEDs need ( IIRC) 3.7 volts so 3x ordinary batteries = 4.5 volts so fine. 3x rechargeables = 3.6 volts. Depends on the circuitry for powering the led

johndoh
    Free Member

I find that rechargeable don’t hold the charge for as long as standard batteries. And with all the online places you can get batteries for very little money, I just bulk buy normal ones. The D cell ones in my Maglite (with LED bulb conversion) have lasted years. If I had used rechargeable they would 100% have needed recharging by now.

No idea about relative brightness though.

leffeboy