Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Anyone work on the railways? Jobs etc.
  • smogmonster

Anyone on here work in the train industry…whether as conductors, drivers, whatever? I’m thinking of a career switch…i currently work in oil and gas, but our company is slowly going under, and redundancy doesnt look that far away for many of us. I’m a nurse by profession, so work will be easy to come by, but tbh, i dont want to go back to nursing. I’ve always had a train fascination, and would – i think – love to be a conductor or driver. I live close to Darlington station so the East Coast Mainline is nearby..it passes my house….so Virgin seems a most likely place to start. Are those in the industry able to recommend it? What is the pay like? the conditions for working etc?

allthepies
    Free Member

Good money but not sure how easy it is to get in.

tomhoward

love to be a conductor

You know what all the strikes are about, right?

smogmonster

Virgin still use them..nor were they on strike!

Jakester
    Free Member

love to be a conductor

Well, they’re electrifying the Paddington-Bristol route so you might be in with a shout… 😀

scuttler

You know what all the strikes are about, right?

Not sure what the average staff count is for an intercity train on ECML is but it’s a bit more than those commuter boxes the southerners moan about – driver, guard(s), food staff, trolley pushers, even bin-emptiers who seem to ride between stations. And when the VTEC franchise comes back into public ownership it’ll be like a Hong Kong hotel where there’ll be jobs for everyone comrades!

aP
    Free Member

Well, they’re electrifying the Paddington-Bristol route

They’re doing some of it, but definitely not through Bath.

Rockhopper
    Free Member

They only recruit at certain times of the year and they are always massively over subscribed, but you’ve got to be in it to win it i suppose.

Edit – Virgin are not recruiting at the moment.

andrewreay