• This topic has 14 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by SST.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Anyone work in HR / Recruiting?
  • Ishouldbeworking
    Free Member

Morning all,

I'm updating my cv and wondered if there was anyone on here who looks at 00's of cv's and know whats good/bad?

I'm an engineer looking at engineering roles…Don't want to send it out to lots of people but if there was someone who thought they could cast a critical eye over mine I would be grateful.

Cheers, Dave

fishwife
    Free Member

hi

have worked in HR for about 15 yrs in quite a few different organisations including a year in an aero-engineering firm.

my engineering knowledge is probanly a bit limited but i've got quite a bit of experince in recruitment so happy to have a look

dlightfoot5@hotmail.com

smurf
    Free Member

Review lots of CVs (building up a team at the moment) and recently implemented a new recruitment system, global team etc etc at a Bank.

Happy to take a look – simon At murfin DOT org DOT uk

tyger
    Free Member

Hi Dave, I've just come out of my first ever redundancy which lasted since April.

I have a very sound CV now but it took quite a lot of honing. I start my new job in October but I was sending out between 4 – 6 CVs per day.

There are some points which may help on the applying front and these days it's all about skills and results. A letter of introduction is also a must (again needs to be honed and tailored for every application) plus any recommendations you can add (these are not references). Another tip is to save and send these as pdf files not Word docs as different MS Word versions can change the layout (I can point you in the direction of a free pdf converter).

One other point to remember is that HR have the power to say "No" but not to say "Yes" so avoid them if you can.

Contact me on tyger@talk21.com and I'll proof-read your CV and give you some advise if you want.

Paul

tyger
    Free Member