Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Anyone using Time pedals….
  • carlos
    Free Member

As I’m thinking of ditching the CB Mallets and getting some.

So had the Mallets 3yrs or so, done the rebuild thing more than once and the shafts are now a bit worn, hence looking at an alternative.

Don’t want Shimano
    Do want float, good sized platform and alloy

Questions are –
    Are they any good
    Can you rebuild them or do they just last (and for how long)
    Whats the warranty like, if you need it
    Go for Z Freeride or Z Srong

Thanks
    Carl

RoterStern
    Free Member

I’ve been using Time for well over 15 years. The new Attac pedals are lighter than their predecessors but they don’t last as long (I just replaced a pair of Aliums that I have been using for about 12 years!). I replaced the Alliums with the Attac Roc pedals which have a similar spring set up to the old Attacs so hopefully they will last longer than the newer Attacs which have worn out after two seasons of riding. The main problem is that the new mini springs are anchored to the resin body of the pedal which wears quite quickly which means the pedal starts to feel all rattly. Time do spare parts for their pedals but at the end of the day it is often cheaper to replace the whole pedal.

gibby

Been using the same Z freerides for 6 years with no problems whatsoever, with virtually no maintenance apart from a (very) occasional dab of grease to the bearings.

iainc

Time ROC Atac S on 3 bikes here – great kit, no need to service, last for yrs, just do the job, no clagging up with mud, kind on dodgy knees.

Crap with snow though…

Junkyard
    Free Member

last and last cant comment on the newer model as i dont have them

Replaced the bearing on one set after about 10 years cost me the best part of £3 and took about 15 mins.
    I have some strong or freeride if you want them older model