• This topic has 27 replies, 15 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by Tim.
Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Anyone use a Brooks saddle?
  • loddrik
    Free Member

How are they? Are they worth the extra outley in terms of comfort snd build?

jahwomble
    Free Member

Don't know……but I've been thinking about one for a week or two as well. That's not really much help is it?

ton

shit offroad, ace on road………..eventually 😉

stAn-BadBrainsMBC
    Free Member

I've been using a brooks B17(narrow)on my hardtail for a few years now.once they're broken in they really are very comfortable,and when they are polished up they look devine

just for comparison – prior to the brooks i'd been using a spesh BG (still do on the ss and road bike) , even had my bum measured to make sure it was the right size. It was quite comfy but doesn't even come close to the brooks.

I've tried a number of saddles over the (too many) years and only thing that came close was an SDG bell air (one with the tiger skin)

I had a brooks on one of my bikes when i was in my late teens early twenties and i seem to recall i only changed it due to peer pressure as everyone was getting gel saddles and flites etc.

stAn-BadBrainsMBC
    Free Member

totally disagree that they are sh@t off road. only thing i would say is that if you are going out on a particularly long ride in poor conditions i'd get a saddle cover to protect it

ton

stan, they get wet from water thrown up from the rear wheel, which soaks the underside untreated leather, and makes it sag.

stAn-BadBrainsMBC
    Free Member

ayup tony – thats what proofide (or whatever its called) is for and i usually have a mud guard on in the wet

clubber
    Free Member

Just can't see the point. They're comfy when worn in but no more so that more modern ones that fit you, cost loads and are relatively fragile irrespective of what some people say and require maintaining. Yes, I've had one.