Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Anyone living and teaching abroad?
  • MountainMonkey
    Free Member

My husband and I have been considering moving abroad for a few years now and an incident with a local 'yoof' today has prompted us to come back to the idea. Esentially we're after a more relaxing lifestyle somewhere drier and warmer where we'd be happier bringing up kids (I know that sounds a bit idealist, but you get the idea)

My husband is a teacher so we've been looking at various teaching jobs and in particular at international schools (as a first step at least). My husband was born in Bahrain and grew up all over the world, we've also travelled a fair bit and have family living abroad, so are not too naive about the whole thing.

I know it's a bit of a long-shot, but I was just wondering if anyone out there has taken the leap and is now living and teaching abroad? And if so, what you're experiences have been…

Cheers in advance, MM.

rob1984p
    Free Member

I'm teaching oral English for a year in Leshan, Sichuan, China. The money is terrible by western standards but general life here costs nothing like it doest in the west (I reckon about a fifth).

I teach at a College / University in a small city, a friend of a friend teaches in Chengdu (big city) at a primary school at get three times what we get, plus all expenses paid.

My motivation for doing it was quite different to yours and I am at a different stage in my life but am really enjoying things in general and would recommend teaching in China highly.

I want to do a PGCE but to get on a course need to demonstrate experience which in spite of chasing local schools and the massively wasteful TDA quango for six months was near impossible in the UK.

I was also completely disinterested and very bad at languages at school which is something I have regretted a lot in recent years, I am currently adding Chinese to my skillset which makes me happy.

alan-sierracycling
    Free Member