Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Anyone given up mtb after one injury too many?
  • brooess
    Free Member

Been riding since 1995 and largely major incident-free till 2007 when i broke my collarbone which in total took 3 operations and 18 months to fix. also meant lost earnings as i’m a contractor and couldn’t get to work to fulfil my contract. Also managed to break my scapular in 2008 although that fixed relatively quickly.

Got into road biking pretty seriously from 2010 and have barely ridden mtb since then, partly just because of the hassle of constant cleaning and maintenance and cost and time of driving 90 mins to go for any kind of decent ride. partly i just fancied a change after having rather overdone mtb for so long.

Been riding mtb a bit more this year, and really enjoying it but a small mistake a couple of weeks ago and i now have a plate and screws in my wrist. I’m 42 so broken bones are more serious than when i was younger and now self employed contractor so i’ve lost a load of income and am relying on the generosity of my client to not terminate my contract + don’t want to get a reputation for unreliability.

i’m wondering if it’s really the best idea to hangup my camelbak, stick to road riding and just call it a day…

Thoughts?

SaxonRider

Having broken my collarbone about five years ago, and missed a few weeks of work as I waited for surgery, I realised I just couldn’t afford the risk. I’m a pretty crap rider anyway, and I couldn’t imagine getting any better by riding even more tenderly.

That said, I have taken my kids out a number of times, and used it as an excuse just to enjoy the trails without taking risks.

As a result, I find I can still enjoy the mud without worrying too much. And now, with a new road bike, I can compete with myself on pavement instead.

cynic-al
    Free Member

The driving/time element frustrated me too. Been lucky but also ride within my limits so few injuries. Up to you!

dirtyrider
    Free Member