Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Anyone else hate working on bikes?
  • hitman
    Free Member

By that I mean giving your bike a simple service, changing tyres, installing Stans No Tubes (which I’ve been doing recently), trying to sort out a sticky back brake caliper (which I’m about to do) etc,etc

I absolutely hate doing any of the above but think I might be in a bit of a minority. Most MTBers I’ve met seem to relish the opportunity to roll their sleeves up and set about dismantling their bike and putting it back together.

Any thoughts? (BTW tips for freeing back brake would be helpful also 🙂 )

househusband

It’s one of the reasons I like bicycles in general; aside from actually building the frame itself there’s little I don’t think I have done or could do.

Some people maybe just aren’t practically minded, but still enjoy riding bicycles.

GreenRoom
    Free Member

What kind of caliper is it? Yeah I rather like fettling although when I was a hire mechanic I may have had a different story to tell………..

GreenRoom
    Free Member

triple post, sorry

GreenRoom
    Free Member

stupid ‘pooters

theflatboy
    Free Member

i like it but live in a one bedroom flat in the middle of london with no outside space or garden, hence it is somewhat difficult these days so i don’t do as much as i did or should. can’t wait to have a garage/shed. 🙂

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

I hate chains – otherwise I rather enjoy fettling bikes. so much so all my bikes are fully fettled at the moment and I feel rather lost with nowt to do

ononeorange