Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Anyone an animator or know anything about it?
  • teasel
    Free Member

I want to create a 3 1/2 – 4 minute animation for a piece of music. I’d rather do it myself but I’m under no illusion it will be a walk in the park, though I’m willing to have a go. Is there any software that makes this kind of thing easier than creating every frame or is that the general gist – frame by frame.

Any software recommendations from those that dabble?

If you’re a pro, how much does something like this cost?

Finally – if the software is prohibitively expensive then I was thinking about approaching the National Film and Television School as it’s reasonably local to me. If any of you have been or is a student of this kind of thing, is this something that happens much – i.e. outsider working with a group of filmakers for a project – or is it all in-house, so to speak…?

Any advice welcome.

x

soma_rich
    Free Member

As a novice I would look at Lego stop annimation, there have been some incredible films made with just lego:
    https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/lego-movie-maker/id516001587?mt=8
    http://brickfilms.com/groups/lego-stop-motion/

mogrim

You don’t need to animate frame-by-frame. You create a model, maybe with a skeleton, and generate “key frames” – the computer then works out how to get from one to the other.

Options are Maya, 3DS Max, and Blender (amongst others). The first two are commercial offerings from Autodesk, although I think both have free student licences. There are lots of tutorials out there, but be aware they all have a fairly steep learning curve.

flyingmonkeycorps

Animation is a pretty wide brief there. There’s about a million different ways to animate, and almost as many different pieces of software to help you.

Some kind of clue as to what you’d like to achieve would be helpful.

(Degree in animation and work occasionally takes in 3ds max visualisation)

DezB
    Free Member