Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Anybody else used to work in the cycle industry and miss it?
  • neil853
    Free Member

I worked in it for about 8-10 years, can honestly say I loved it. But career progression came to an end and decided to get a ‘real’ job, thing is I don’t really like the real job anymore and the constant (so it seems anyway) threat of redundancies doesn’t do it/me any favours.

Not sure i’m really looking for an answer, more just putting it out there. Should I go back? 🙂

njee20
    Free Member

Do you think the bike industry is immune from redundancies!?

I worked in the retail side for 10 years off and on, it was great, but I’m glad I’ve got a ‘proper’ job. Most of the time.

spyke85
    Free Member

I do work in the ‘industry’ as they say and have to say I absolutely love it.

I think expectations are somewhat crazy at times from certain people, as in ‘I’ve smashed my mech, replace it under warranty’ or ‘I’ve had this £1800 bike and all the gera cables need replacing – this should be warranty’ etc but I do have a good laugh too.

Money isn’t great, and don’t get to ride my bike that much at all but I could never work behind a desk!

neil853
    Free Member

NO, I don’t. But although there’s the threat of it I don’t think i’m getting the work/life balance right. I woke up and clapped my hands that I was going to work before, haven’t done that for a very long time.

ah, probably just a bad day in the office 🙂

kudos100
    Free Member

I do and I don’t. The industry was great, however the owner of the company that I worked for was a total bellend.

I would go back for definite, but only if I could land a job that would lead to a half decent living.

cookeaa

Define the “Industry” for me?

To my mind working in a Bike shop is just a segment of the Retail/service industry and probably as prone to the same +/-ives as working in any shop (the difference being you probably care more about what you sell than someone in topshop)