Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Any wind turbine experts around?
  • Gunz
    Free Member

A farm close to us has put in a planning application for two 20m wind turbines which would be sited on the other side of a small rise about 1/2 mile from our house.
    Not wanting to immediately revert to NIMBY mode if not necessary, does anyone have an idea of the noise levels turbines of this size can produce?

project
    Free Member

very litle , compared to the sound of babies crying, car repairs, doors slaming and a motorway.

cp

sod all

scotroutes

I’m not an expert but I had a ride up around one of Europes largest windfarms last year and blogged about it here . It was blowing a fairly stiff breeze and the wind noise was negligible – even standing right under the blades.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Any wind turbine experts around?

sod all

about right..

Just get some cables out and bung the lads building it £50….

bigjim

20m blades, or 20m high? What model? The Proven ones are surprisingly noisy in a very strong wind, but it isn’t a bad noise, not like a busy road, I just wouldn’t want one right outside my bedroom window.

ononeorange

I’m sure UKIP can come up with some thoughtful and well-informed information for you which is all fully provable.

sugdenr
    Free Member

If its anything like the ones I have seen put up, it will mostly be motionless.

ahwiles
    Free Member

not an expert, but we’ve got one in the carpark at work that makes a 20m jobbie look like a tidler.

when it’s very windy, it makes a quiet muffled thumping noise, but the rest of the time you’d hardly notice it.

Junkyard
    Free Member

I had one on my boat and you heard the vibration not the blades- obviously not that size

IMHO you wont ever hear it – may be noisy when really windy but by then you will be hearing the wind anyway and not the turbine

Gary_M
    Free Member